Haven’t used your Google account in years? It’s going to be deleted
If you haven’t used your Google account in two years be warned that is about to be deleted as the company culls inactive profiles.
Google announced in an email to users that if their Google account has been inactive for two years, meaning it hasn’t been signed into or used, it will be deleted.
This will come into effect from December 1 this year.
The company said the changes are to protect the privacy of users and how long personal files and data are stored.
“We want to protect your private information and prevent any unauthorised access to your account even if you’re no longer using our services,” the email read.
The company said the changes won’t affect users unless they’ve been inactive for two years and haven’t signed into any Google product.
However, the changes don’t apply to all accounts.
Accounts with a Youtube channel, videos, gift cards with a monetary balance, or it is linked to an application like Google Play.
But if your account is deleted, then your Gmail address can’t be used to create a new account.
Google said the easiest way to keep an account active if you don’t want it to be part of this mass cull is to sign in at least once every two years.
“If you have signed in to your Google Account recently in the past two years, your account is considered active and will not be deleted,” Google said.