Kiwi quick Kyle Jamieson baffled after third

Kiwi quick Kyle Jamieson baffled after third

Kiwi quick Kyle Jamieson baffled after third-umpire correctly overturns seemingly legal catch

The cricket world has been left divided after Kiwi quick Kyle Jamieson was denied a spectacular catch against Bangladesh in the second ODI in Christchurch.

Jamieson thought he had nabbed an early breakthrough when he brilliantly dived to ground and caught Tamim Iqbal off his own delivery.

It was an impressive piece of athleticism from the 6ft 8′ quick, but Jamieson’s heroics were about to be denied by the third-umpire.

Kyle Jamieson was baffled with the third umpire’s call. (Twitter) (Twitter)

Replays showed Jamieson’s hands on top of the ball when he made contact with the ground, putting the decision into contention as to whether he had control of the ball when it made contact with the turf.

Jamieson caught the ball a near foot off the ground but upon replay the third-umpire ruled that he had not completed the catch and did not have control of the ball when his hand hit the ground.

“I’ve got the ball on the ground, and the player is not fully in control,” TV umpire Chris Gaffaney said.

Jamieson was clearly in disbelief when the verdict was handed down, throwing his hands in the air and appearing to mouth the words “f—ing bulls—“.

Yet, according to 33.3 ‘Making a catch’, the law was correctly applied.

“The act of making a catch shall start from the time when the ball first comes into contact with a fielder’s person and shall end when a fielder obtains complete control over both the ball and his/her own movement.”

Jamieson was this year picked up for a whopping $2.6 million in the Indian Premier League.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *